Print Shortlink

Pageant Princess

McClure Fair Princess Contest

The purpose of the Fair and Pageant Competition program is to encourage the promotion of agricultural fairs and to create better relations between youth and adults in both rural and urban settings. The McClure Bean Soup Festival & Fair Princess is expected to represent the festival and fair with pride and dignity, and to exhibit the highest of principles at all times.


1. Be a resident of Pennsylvania

2. Be a resident of the following counties: Snyder, Mifflin, Juniata, Northumberland, or Union

3. Be at least 12 years of age and not over 15 years of age by June 1, 2023

4. Have her parents or guardians consent to compete in this contest

5. Be single, never married, have had no children; and must not marry, nor get pregnant during her reign.

6. Not be a former local nor county winner of a Fair Princess Pageant

7. Attend rehearsal

8. Enter at least 1 contest of your choice in the Exhibit Hall. (Shoebox Floats, Pumpkin Decorating, etc.)


1. Talent Competition (5 minute maximum)

2. A typewritten essay about “Why I Should Be The Bean Soup Princess” (150-300 words)

3. A personal interview with a panel of three judges prior to stage competition. (time TBA)

4. Poise & presentation (appearance & neatness) during the contestant introductions (evening gown attire)

5. Ability to communicate (speaking ability) during the question & answer (evening gown attire) that will be delivered to the judges and the public in attendance at the contest.


1. Be on hand at all areas of the McClure Bean Soup Festival & Fair to distribute ribbons, trophies, etc, as coordinated with the Pageant Committee. This responsibility begins on Sunday, September 10, 2023.

2. Represent the McClure Bean Soup Festival and Fair in parades and other functions throughout the area during her reign.

3. Fundraising to Benefit Fair & Pageant Program

4. McClure Bean Soup Festival & Fair Princess Crowning: September 2024.

All contestants will receive an individual gift. In addition, cash prizes will be awarded as follows:

Princess $225

1st Runner Up $100

One half of the cash awards will be presented at the end of the fair. The second half will be presented at the end of their reign if all responsibilities and obligations have been fulfilled throughout their reign.

August 1, 2023 is the deadline for Complete Fair Princess Entries to be submitted to:

McClure Bean Soup Festival & Fair Princess Contest C/O Kate Reed 229 Connor Road, McClure, PA 17841

Complete Fair Princess Entry consists of: Google Entry Form  /  PDF Entry Form

1. Essay “Why I Should Be The Bean Soup Princess”

2. Completed Entry Form

3. Paid Entry Fee ($15 non-refundable)

4. Two 4×6 photos for publicity (no copyrighted photos please)

5. One 5×7 photo for the Photogenic Contest

6. Basket for Pageant Basket Raffle (Bring to rehearsal)

7. Entry for Exhibit Hall contest (Bring entry to rehearsal)

If you have any questions, please phone Kate Reed (570) 658-7266 or email

*The exact schedule for Sunday, September 10th will be determined by the number of contestants who enter.

*Contestants will report to the backstage area of the stage, where they can set up their areas to dress, do make-up and hair, etc.

*Contestants are asked to have one person with them in this area, and must provide their own mirror(s), etc.

* Electric outlets are plentiful in the dressing room, but contestants need to bring their own extension cords.

*Interviews, with contestants in business attire, are private with only the panel of three Judges.

*Exact times for the interviews will be announced.

*Contestants will receive notification concerning scheduling for both days.

The 2023 McClure Bean Soup Festival and Fair Princess will be named at the conclusion of this competition, and will assume her duties immediately.

Past Winners

2022 Alaina Brower

2021 Caleigh Smith

2020 Dakota Kreis

2019 Whitney Gudonis

2018 Sarah Nesbit

2017 Aiyana Reed

2016 Kaiya Reed

2015 Olivia Laub

2014 Julia Nesbit

2013 Jaylynn Blair

2012 Brooke Aucker

2011 Deborah Thomas

2010 Tessa Bonson

2009 Gabrielle Vega

2008 Larissa Bubb

2007 Casey Shawver

2006 Jordan Fisher

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.